Buford Peace Award

Established in 2002 by UA Social Work alumnus Tony D. Walker, of Montgomery, the Buford Peace Award recognizes and encourages faculty members to become both professionally and personally active in causes that promote peace and justice. The award is named for Lahoma Adams Buford, who served her community without desire for recognition and dedicated her life to building a better, more just and peaceful world.

Housed in the School of Social Work, the Lahoma Adams Buford Endowed Support Fund provides the Buford Peace Award. The university-wide endowed award is presented annually to a University of Alabama faculty member who in their teaching, research, professional practice and personal life have demonstrated exceptional levels of involvement in mediating human disputes, helping overcome prejudice, promoting justice and establishing peace.

2017 Nominations are Open

Submit your nomination

Instructions for submitting a nomination:

  1. Chrome and Mozilla Firefox users must download the PDF by right-clicking and selecting “Save As.” Save the file to your hard drive.
  2. Open the PDF in a PDF viewer. Download Adobe Acrobat Reader for free.
  3. Fill out the form and click the submit your nomination button to attach your PDF file in an email. Attach your supporting documents to the email and send to eadykes@sw.ua.edu.
  4. You also may mail or drop off your completed form to:

Liz Lary, events coordinator
School of Social Work
Capital Hall, Room 2137

Award Recipients:

  • Receive a medal
  • Can choose from a taxable $1,000 cash prize, or a $1,000 deposit into a discretionary account or $1,000 to be used for a purchase up to $1,000

Eligibility for Nominees:

Highest priority will be given to faculty members from the School of Social Work, but faculty members in any division of UA are eligible provided they meet the selection criteria. Nominations may be made by faculty, students, or staff. Previously nominated candidates may be nominated again.

Past Recipients

Dr. Ellen Griffith Spears, associate professor in New College and the Department of American Studies


Dr. Mary Meares, associate professor of communication studies and graduate program director, College of Communication and Information Studies

Dr. Josephine Pryce, associate professor, School of Social Work

Dr. Stephen F. Black, director of the UA Center for Ethics and Social Responsibility and a faculty member in the Honors College

Dr. Bronwen Lichtenstein, associate professor and graduate director, Department of Criminal Justice, College of Arts and Sciences

Joanne Terrell, instructor, School of Social Work

Dr. J. Norman Baldwin, associate professor and director of the master of public administration program, Department of Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Rhonda Johnson, professor of Women’s Studies, College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Patricia Bauch, professor of educational leadership, policy and technology studies, College of Education

Dr. Bryan Fair, Thomas E. Skinner Professor of Law, School of Law

Dr. John O’Neal, professor of political science, College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Amilcar Shabazz, assistant professor and director of the African-American Studies program, College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Cassandra Simon, associate professor, School of Social Work


Testimonials from Past Award Winners:

Cassandra Simon.Dr. Cassandra Simon, assistant professor of social work, was selected as the first honoree of The Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award. Dr. Simon described what winning the award meant to her in 2004.

“Receiving the Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award has been one of the highlights of my life. Having only been here 4 years and to be the first recipient is especially meaningful to me. I am humbled to be honored in such a way. To have my peers, co-workers and students recognize the importance of justice and peace in my life and the way I try to live it greatly adds to the significance of the award and inspires me. I am grateful to Mrs. Buford for living such an inspiring life, to Mr. Tony Walker for recognizing the importance of these values in the world in which we live, and to my mother and grandmother, Bertha Johnwell and Bessie Pipion, for molding me and giving me the strength to be who I am today.”

Dr. J. Norman Baldwin.Dr. J. Norman Baldwin, associate professor and director of the master of public administration program in the Political Science Department, College of Arts and Sciences, was named the 2010 recipient of the Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award.

Dr. J. Norman Baldwin needed pause to gather his emotions and find the right words to describe what winning the Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award meant to him in 2010. As he sat in his office in Ten Hoor Hall, the political science professor, eyes watery and voice cracking, described why the Buford Peace Award is equipollent to other campus-wide awards he’s received in his 20-plus years at The University of Alabama. “I hold social workers in such high esteem because they’re truly wonderful people,” Baldwin said. “I put them on a pedestal. To be recognized by social workers, in light of what they’ve committed themselves to professionally, I can’t think of any higher honor.” Baldwin has served as Faculty Senate president, where he spearheaded an effort to achieve domestic partner benefits for faculty in same-sex relationships, as well as led an effort to help facilitate the racial integration of UA’s Greek system. “Eleven years ago, I pushed for integration of the Greek system,” Baldwin said, “it didn’t happen. I experienced some intimidation because of it; there were uncooperative people. But for the Buford Award to recognize me in part for that effort makes me feel it wasn’t in vain. “Sometimes you’re lonely out there championing social causes.”