Social Work students are encouraged to participate in job preparation and career success opportunities through the School of Social Work and the University.

The UA Career Center

Through the UA Career Center, students can seek help with career planning, resumes and developing job-search strategies. The Career Center also hosts career fairs, mock interviews and employer information sessions to connect students, alumni and employers.

Connect with the UA Career Center

Social Work Career Services

The School of Social Work Career Services Program offers a wide variety of resources and services to help students achieve their career goals. Social Work Career Services include:

MSW Orientations

August 16, 2019

January 3, 2020

Career Coaching with Corbett

The initial hour of each session will highlight career growth and development topics from professional networking, to resumes and LinkedIn, to interview preparation and job search, to leadership and supervision, to applying the NASW Code of Ethics in a professional setting, and more. Students are encouraged and expected to bring their career coaching questions to each session.

Summer Group Sessions via Zoom
Thursday, June 13: 6 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CT | 7 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. ET
Tuesday, July 23: 12 p.m. -1 :30 p.m. CT | 1 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. ET
Wednesday, August 14: 6 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CT | 7 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. ET

Zoom Room: https://uasystem.zoom.us/j/2548470758 or Telephone Number: (646) 558-8656 and Meeting ID: 254 847 0758
Highly successful students participate with a Webcam and Internet connection. Driving is not allowed during sessions.

1-1 Summer Coaching and Email Responses
Available with Becky S. Corbett, MSW, ACSW, Career Services Consultant
Email beckycorbett@sw.ua.edu by Fridays, 5 p.m. CT and 6 p.m. ET with your career questions and responses will be provided by Monday at 8 a.m. CT and 9 a.m. ET. When appropriate, Coach Corbett will schedule a Zoom 1-1 meeting with students.

Resources

Students may download and print the following job preparation and job search resources:

Resource: Social Work & Career Preparation Website Resources
Resource: Resume Format Template
Resource: Resume Checklist
Resource: Resume Action Words
Resource: Resume Action Words by Category
Resource: Interview Checklist
Resource: Sample Interview Questions
Resource: Sample Questions for Employer
Resource: Email Signature Template

FOLLOW US ON: