Skip to content Where Legends Are Made
School of Social Work Apply to UA Make a Gift
a group of people gathered for the Buford Peace Award event

Buford Peace Award

Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award

Established in 2002 by UA Social Work alumnus Tony D. Walker, of Montgomery, the Buford Peace Award recognizes faculty members who are both professionally and personally active in causes that promote peace and justice. The award is named for Lahoma Adams Buford, who served her community without desire for recognition and dedicated her life to building a better, more just and peaceful world.

Housed in the School of Social Work, the Lahoma Adams Buford Endowed Support Fund provides the Buford Peace Award. The university-wide endowed award is presented annually to a University of Alabama faculty member. Previously nominated candidates may be nominated again. Recipients of this award receive a medal and a taxable $1,000 cash prize.

Nominations for the 2024 Buford Peace Award are now open. The deadline to nominate is Monday, March 18th.


  • Nominee must be faculty members in any division of UA (highest priority will be given to faculty members from the School of Social Work.


  • Nominee must demonstrate in their teaching, research, professional practice and personal life exceptional levels of involvement in mediating human disputes, helping overcome prejudice, promoting justice and establishing peace.

Nomination Process

Nominations are open to faculty, students and staff. A four-member committee — comprised of a SSW faculty member appointed by the Dean, a UA faculty member, the previous year’s Buford Peace Award recipient and a SSW student — will meet to select the award recipient in March.

Past Awardees

2024Dr. Jennifer CoxDepartment of Psychology
2023Dr. Pamela Payne-FosterCollege of Community Health Science
2022Dr. Karen Thompson-JacksonSchool of Social Work
2021Dr. Utz McKnightCollege of Arts and Sciences
2020Dr. Steve KatsinasCollege of Education
2019Dr. John LochmanCollege of Arts and Sciences
2018Dr. Lea YerbyCollege of Community Health Sciences
2017Global Studies Instructor Frannie JamesCapstone International Center
2016Dr. Ellen Griffith SpearsNew College
2015Dr. Mary MearesCollege of Communication and Information Studies
2014Dr. Josephine PryceSchool of Social Work
2013Dr. Stephen F. BlackCenter for Ethics and Social Responsibility
2012Dr. Browen LichtensteinCollege of Arts and Sciences
2011Instructor Joanne TerrellSchool of Social Work
2010Dr. Norman J. BaldwinCollege of Arts and Sciences
2009Dr. Rhonda JohnsonCollege of Arts and Sciences
2008Dr. Patricia BauchCollege of Education
2007Dr. Bryan FairSchool of Law
2006Dr. John O’NealCollege of Arts and Sciences
2005Dr. Amilcar ShabazzCollege of Arts and Sciences
2004Dr. Cassandra SimonSchool of Social Work