Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award

Established in 2002 by UA Social Work alumnus Tony D. Walker, of Montgomery, the Buford Peace Award recognizes faculty members who are both professionally and personally active in causes that promote peace and justice. The award is named for Lahoma Adams Buford, who served her community without desire for recognition and dedicated her life to building a better, more just and peaceful world.

Housed in the School of Social Work, the Lahoma Adams Buford Endowed Support Fund provides the Buford Peace Award. The university-wide endowed award is presented annually to a University of Alabama faculty member. Previously nominated candidates may be nominated again. Recipients of this award receive a medal and can choose from a taxable $1,000 cash prize, or a $1,000 deposit into a discretionary account or $1,000 to be used for a purchase up to $1,000.

Nominations for the 2022 Buford Peace Award are now open and can be made here. The deadline to nominate is March 6.


  • Nominee must be faculty members in any division of UA (highest priority will be given to faculty members from the School of Social Work.


  • Nominee must demonstrate in their teaching, research, professional practice and personal life exceptional levels of involvement in mediating human disputes, helping overcome prejudice, promoting justice and establishing peace.

Nomination Process

Nominations are open to faculty, students and staff. A four-member committee — comprised of a SSW faculty member appointed by the Dean, a UA faculty member, the previous year’s Buford Peace Award recipient and a SSW student — will meet to select the award recipient no later than Feb. 28.

Past Awardees

Year Awardee Division
2022 Dr. Karen Thompson-Jackson School of Social Work
2021 Dr. Utz McKnight College of Arts and Sciences
2020 Dr. Steve Katsinas College of Education
2019 Dr. John Lochman College of Arts and Sciences
2018 Dr. Lea Yerby College of Community Health Sciences
2017 Global Studies Instructor Frannie James Capstone International Center
2016 Dr. Ellen Griffith Spears New College
2015 Dr. Mary Meares College of Communication and Information Studies
2014 Dr. Josephine Pryce School of Social Work
2013 Dr. Stephen F. Black Center for Ethics and Social Responsibility
2012 Dr. Browen Lichtenstein College of Arts and Sciences
2011 Instructor Joanne Terrell School of Social Work
2010 Dr. Norman J. Baldwin College of Arts and Sciences
2009 Dr. Rhonda Johnson College of Arts and Sciences
2008 Dr. Patricia Bauch College of Education
2007 Dr. Bryan Fair School of Law
2006 Dr. John O’Neal College of Arts and Sciences
2005 Dr. Amilcar Shabazz College of Arts and Sciences
2004 Dr. Cassandra Simon School of Social Work