Board of Friends

The purpose of the Board of Friends is to effect a close working relationship between leaders in the community and the faculty, staff and students in the School of Social Work. The Board also works to influence development and advancement activities for the School.

The objectives of the Board of Friends are to:

  • Assist the School in securing financial resources
  • Study needs and opportunities for private funding for the School
  • Function as an advocacy group for the University and the School
  • Assist in the recruitment of outstanding students to the School
  • Advise the School on long range planning

For more information about the Board of Friends, please email Lindsey Johnson or call 205-348-5384.

 2019-20 Members of the Board of Friends

Ann Langley, chair

Dr. Karen Thompson, vice chair

Dr. Barry Ackerson

Laurie Faulkner Hereford

Dr. Russell Bennett

Julia Caddell

Dr. Tom Cook

Becky S. Corbett

Lady Portis Cunningham

Shuryvonne S. Dixon

James Dupree

Veronica J. Elder

Pamela Green

Deborah Land

Amy Beaulieu Mansue

Carroll Phelps

J. Miller Piggott

J. Wayne Sellers

Dr. Harold Shambley

Sam Smith

Coy Stout

William Suclupe

Tony D. Walker

Dr. John Ziegler