UA Social Work Develops Behavioral Health App for State

August 2nd, 2022

Working with several state agencies and nonprofit organizations, researchers and social work experts at The University of Alabama gathered all education, information and services related to substance use, mental health […]

Nominations Open for the 2022 Buford Peace Award

February 16th, 2022

Feb. 11, 2022 Nominations are now being accepted for the School of Social Work’s 2022 Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award. The deadline for UA students, faculty and staff to nominate […]

SSWR Recap, Lee Elected to Board of Directors

January 27th, 2022

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Despite the threat of the ongoing global pandemic, representatives from the University of Alabama School of Social Work found ways to stay safe and make the trip […]

Villarreal Receives Horizon Award

January 27th, 2022

Carina Villarreal received the Horizon Award at the 13th Legacy Awards Banquet in the Sellers Auditorium of the Bryant Conference Center on Friday, Jan. 14, 2022. Villarreal received her BA […]

UA Part of Research Into Racial Disparity in Infant Mortality

January 18th, 2022

The interdisciplinary research team brings together expertise from social work, economics and anthropology. Funded through a $250,000, two-year grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Policies for Action program, the […]

Foster Earns First Place at 3MT Competition

November 17th, 2021

TUSCALOOSA – Carmen Foster, 2nd-Year Doctor of Social Work student, competed in the finals of the University of Alabama 3-Minute Thesis (3MT) competition where she won first prize on November […]

NASEM Committee Announcement

September 20th, 2021

David L. Albright, Distinguished Research Professor and the Hill Crest Foundation Endowed Chair in Mental Health Research, has been appointed by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine to […]