March 3, 2020

Nominations are now being accepted for the School of Social Work’s 2020 Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award.

**Due to postponements and cancelations brought about by COVID-19, the deadline for UA students, faculty and staff to nominate a UA faculty member for the award has been extended through May 1. Previously nominated candidates also may be nominated again. Highest priority will be given to faculty members from the School of Social Work, but faculty members in any division of UA are eligible provided they meet the selection criteria. Nominations can be submitted online.

Recipients of the Buford Peace Award receive a $1,000 taxable cash prize and are recognized at the school’s annual Academic Awards ceremony. **The Buford Award recipient was originally scheduled to be announced during the School of Social Work’s annual Academic Awards ceremony on May 4; the Academic Awards ceremony has been moved to August 2020 (more information to follow).

About the Buford Peace Award

The Buford Peace Award is awarded to a UA faculty member who is both professionally and personally active in causes that promote peace and justice. Established by UA Social Work alumnus Tony D. Walker, the award recognizes faculty members who demonstrate in their teaching, research, professional practice and personal life exceptional levels of involvement in mediating human disputes, helping overcome prejudice, promoting justice and establishing peace.

Learn more about the Buford Peace Award and past award winners at For questions about the nomination process, the award or the Academic Awards Ceremony, contact Lindsey Johnson at or (205) 348-5384.